Town of Manteo celebrates 125th anniversary

(Town of Manteo/Submitted)

In 1870 Dare County was formed, establishing the county seat and courthouse on Roanoke Island at a site along Shallowbag Bay, now Manteo.

The government center became known as Manteo in 1873 when the post office was established, but the town wasn’t incorporated until 1899 on February 16. By then it had become a bustling center for business and trade as well and continues to be today!

The Town extends a happy 125th anniversary to the place many call home.