UPDATED: Early voting starts with a bang on the Outer Banks, across North Carolina

Voters line up outside Kill Devil Hills Town Hall Thursday morning to cast early ballots in the Nov. 3 election. [Sam Walker photo]

Early voting began this morning on the Outer Banks with long lines around Kill Devil Hills Town Hall, and the same scene was repeated across North Carolina.

Also known as one-stop absentee voting, early voting allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person on select days prior to Election Day, which is Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2020.

Those not registered may register when they vote during Early Voting. Unlike on Election Day, when registered voters can only vote at their specific precinct, early voting allows registered voters to vote at any early voting site in the county.

Early voting for the 2020 General Election begins on Oct. 15 at three locations in Dare County:

  • Dare County Administration Building – 954 Marshall C. Collins Dr., Manteo, N.C. 27954
  • Kill Devil Hills Town Hall Commissioners Meeting Room, 102 Town Hall Drive, Kill Devil Hills, N.C. 27948
  • Cape Hatteras Secondary School Auditorium – 48576 N.C. Hwy. 12, Buxton, N.C. 27920

The sites are open on weekdays from Oct. 15 through Oct. 30 from 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., and on Saturdays, Oct. 17 and Oct. 24 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The last day of early voting is Saturday, Oct. 31 from 8 a.m to 3 p.m.

For more information on One-Stop Absentee Voting and other ways to vote in Dare County, visit darenc.com/voting.


About Kari Pugh 757 Articles
Kari Pugh is digital director for OBXToday.com, Beach 104, 99.1 The Sound, 94.5 WCMS and News Talk 92.3 WZPR. Reach her at [email protected]