Task force subcommittee to talk N.C. 12 concerns

The N.C. 12 Task Force subcommittee is set this week to discuss issues related to the highway on the Outer Banks and associated transportation facilities in Dare and Hyde counties.

The meeting is set for 10 a.m. Wednesday at the Dare County Administration Building, Room No. 168, 54 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo.

Transportation facilities include existing highways, railroads, bridges, culverts, ferries and other structures.

The N.C. 12 Task Force first met May 19 to move forward on a a long-range plan to address N.C. 12 south of Oregon Inlet, as previously reported, when the subcommittee was established.

The subcommittee includes representatives from the Southern Environmental Law Center, North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality’s Division of Coastal Management, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and other state and federal agencies. Within the task force committee, Sterling Baker, state Department of Transportation Division 1 engineer, is to address highway and ferry issues.

Contact Cheryl C. Anby, county clerk, at 252-475-5700 or cheryl.anby@darenc.com.