Dare County employees recognized for their years of service

Pictured: (front, from left) Laurie Kellogg, Nancy Nedley, Nettie Midgett; (back, from left) Wendy Parks, Aubrey Remige, Jackie Tillett, Kelly McPherson, Jerry Lofland, Sandra Shull. Not pictured: Leigh Ann George, Joann Selby. [photo courtesy Dare County]

Dare County employees are regularly recognized for their years of service to the county at the first Board of Commissioners meeting each month.

Due to COVID-19 and limiting in-person attendance at meetings, the eleven service pin recipients from April, May and June were acknowledged and thanked for their service by County Manager Bobby Outten at the June 1 Commissioners meeting.

While they did not attend the meeting, they gathered for a group photograph while practicing social distancing. Dare County thanks these employees for their dedicated service to the community.

Laurie Kellogg, Administrative Specialist with the Water Department, was recognized for 10 years of service. Laurie is a very dependable and caring employee. As a problem solver, she exercises courtesy, tact, and respect when interacting with coworkers, supervisors, and the public. 

Nancy Nedley, Public Health Nurse II with the Department of Health and Human Services, was recognized for 10 years of service. Nancy is the primary clinic nurse and a valuable member of the Health Department Clinic team. Her co-workers value her as knowledgeable, willing to help with questions and coming through in a pinch. She is an essential part of the clinical team.

Nettie Midgett, Senior Sales Analyst with the Tax Department, was recognized for 25 years of service. Nettie analyzes and verifies every real estate transfer in the County and also administers the Land Transfer Tax program. She is an astute appraiser with a vast knowledge of the market and trends in Dare County.

Wendy Parks, Administrative Specialist with the Dare County Sheriff’s Office, was recognized for 15 years of service. Wendy originally worked at the Detention Center and has been at the main Sheriff’s Office since November of 2012. Among her duties handling important paperwork, processing concealed carry permits, and filing orders for the department, she adds a bright personality to the office.

Aubrey Remige, Fitness Coordinator with Older Adult Services, was recognized for 15 years of service. Aubrey’s passion for senior fitness is contagious. She has built the senior fitness program and teaches many classes as well as coordinates other instructors to provide a robust offering to seniors at the Thomas A. Baum Senior Center. Aubrey also serves as Events Director for Outer Banks Senior Games.

Jackie Tillett, Senior Elections Specialist with the Board of Elections, was recognized for 35 years of service. After 28 years in the Planning Department, she transferred to Elections where she currently serves as the Deputy Director. She works to create better ways to make the election process run smoother and goes the extra mile to assist poll workers, voters and the Director. Jackie goes above and beyond with any task she takes on.

Kelly McPherson, Administrative Specialist with General Services, was recognized for 15 years of service. She has worked in almost every single department for Dare County. As a versatile and detail-oriented employee, Kelly fills in for various departments when they are short-staffed or need assistance with large projects.

Jerry Lofland, Water Treatment Plant Superintendent at the Water Department’s Skyco site, was recognized for 20 years of service. Jerry came to Dare County after serving 31 years in the US Army. He started as an operator in Hatteras and in four years was promoted to Superintendent of the Mac Midgett Plant in Rodanthe. After 13 years in Rodanthe, he was transferred to the Skyco water treatment facility in Manteo. Jerry is a dependable employee and works well with his staff as well as the public. 

Sandra Shull, Warehouse Technician with the Public Works Department’s Fleet Maintenance, was recognized for 20 years of service. She is responsible for the procurement and inventory of all parts needed for Dare County vehicles. Her phenomenal attention to detail and record-keeping makes operations run smoothly. 

Leigh Ann George, Detention Shift Leader at the Dare County Jail, was recognized for 15 years of service. Leigh Ann has been a dedicated and loyal employee, and as a stand out among her peers, she has been promoted to Sergeant. Her loyalty and dedication shows as she supervises her shift and strives each day to bring out the best in everyone. 

Joann Selby, Administrative Specialist with the Social Services Division, was recognized for 15 years of service. Joann celebrated her last day at Social Services on Friday, May 29, as she retired after many dedicated years of service to the Family Services and Economic Services units. Congratulations on your retirement, Joann!