COA’s Phi Theta Kappa Nu Nu chapter recognized for five-star status

[College of The Albemarle/Submitted]

College of The Albemarle’s Phi Theta Kappa Nu Nu Chapter was recognized recently for achieving a “Five-Star Chapter” status for the first time while also being the first chapter to do so among the 1300+ society.  The COA Chapter has worked extremely hard this year to complete all of the requirements for this honor.  The criteria to earn five-star status are available in the linked document,

In a focused effort to earn five-star status, the COA Nu Nu Chapter attended conventions, planned projects, completed research, and many other activities.  They virtually participated at the 2022 Carolinas Regional Convention in March while also completing the Carolinas Region Service Project, raising money for the Sickle-Cell Anemia Association of America. In Spring 2022, they conducted an Honors in Action Project that researched the impact of play and fun for stress relief.  The students wrote a paper on the project and hosted a Stress Relief Fun Day at COA – Elizabeth City with video games, board games, rock painting, Legos, and a frisbee toss.  The chapter had more than 40 students participating in this activity. Additionally, they organized a Student Work Expo to coincide with another college event, Advanced Manufacturing Day.  This event took place in October, with about 200 high school students participating. Their activities and projects culminated with the completion of the 2022 Honors Case Study Challenge in November on the impact of playing video games as stress relief.

Many of the student officers for 2021-2022 have graduated.  The following students were/are officers who provided leadership for activities.

  • 2021-2022 President Carson Bettinger (Currituck County)
  • 2021-2022 Vice President of Scholarship Gabriel Dick (Currituck County)
  • 2021-2022 Public Relations Officer Lauren Flach (Pasquotank County)
  • 2021-2022 Vice President of Fellowship Logan Miller (Gates County)
  • 2021-2022 Vice President of Leadership Karah Young (Currituck County)
  • 2022-2023 President Ryan Searle (Pasquotank County)
  • 2022-2023 Vice President of Leadership and Vice President of Scholarship Ahmya Rivera (Pasquotank County)
  • 2022-2023 Vice President of Service Gabrielle Spence (Pasquotank County)
  • 2022-2023 Public Relations Officer/Recording Officer Catherine Washam (Currituck County)
  • 2022-2023 Vice President of Fellowship Madison Melton (Gates County)

According to, “Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes the academic achievement of college students and provides opportunities for its members to grow as scholars and leaders.” 

“I am extremely proud of our students and their outstanding accomplishments this year,” said Leah Jones, Nu Nu Chapter Advisor and COA Associate Professor of Academic Foundations and English. “This is the first time our chapter has achieved ‘Five-Star Chapter’ status, and we are elated to now have this recognition. It was also very exciting to be the first chapter to earn the status this year.  I look forward to continued success for the chapter moving forward.”

For information, please contact Tammy W. Sawyer, COA Director of Communications and Marketing, at or 252.335.0821 ext. 2420.