Christmas tree disposal procedures for unincorporated areas, six towns

[Stock Image/iStock]

Unincorporated Dare County

The Dare County Public Works Department will not pick up any Christmas trees that are left on the curbside within the unincorporated areas of Dare County.

Christmas trees should be dropped off at the Dare County Public Works Recycling Center located at 1018 Driftwood Drive in Manteo or at the Buxton Transfer Station, which is located at 47027 Buxton Back Road in Buxton. Trees that are dropped off at these locations will be recycled into mulch. Please keep in mind that all Dare County offices and facilities are closed December 26, 2022 and December 27, 2022, in observance of the Christmas holiday.

Unincorporated Dare County includes Hatteras Island (Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village), the Dare County mainland (East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes and Stumpy Point), unincorporated areas of Roanoke Island including Wanchese, as well as Colington and Martins Point.

For more information about Christmas tree disposal in unincorporated Dare County, including hours of operation at the recycling centers, visit


The Town of Manteo requests that residents place their undecorated Christmas trees from the curbside during the town’s regular Monday and Thursday sanitation runs so the Public Works Department can remove the trees.

Trees must not contain any ornaments, lights or tinsel in order to be picked up. For more information, visit Town of Manteo.


The Town of Duck will collect undecorated, tinsel-free Christmas trees from the curbside on Monday, January 2, 2023 and Monday, January 9, 2023.

The town asks that trees be placed on the curbside the night before residents’ scheduled collection date. For more information, visit Town of Duck.

Southern Shores

Residents of the Town of Southern Shores may place their undecorated, tinsel-free Christmas trees in limb and branch piles for collection during the regularly scheduled pickup for their sector.

Please note that wreaths are excluded and will not be collected. To determine your sector, or to find more information regarding the town’s collection calendar, rules and regulations, visit Town of Southern Shores.

Kitty Hawk

The Town of Kitty Hawk requests that residents place their undecorated, tinsel-free  Christmas trees along the curbside right-of-way before Wednesday, February 1, 2023 where they will be picked up in a timely manner. For more information, visit Town of Kitty Hawk.

Kill Devil Hills

The Town of Kill Devil Hills will be collecting natural and undecorated Christmas trees that are placed along the curbside beginning on Wednesday, January 11, 2023. Trees must be placed on the curbside right-of-way adjacent to your property no later than Tuesday, January 10, 2023. For more information, visit Town of Kill Devil Hills.

Nags Head

Nags Head residents are asked to place their undecorated, tinsel-free Christmas trees along the side of the road in front of their property, where they will be collected as part of the town’s monthly curbside bulk item/brush collection service.

The town also reminds residents to set their trees in a separate pile from the rest of any bulk items that need to be collected. For more information, contact the Nags Head Public Service Department at 252-441-1122 or visit Town of Nags Head.


Please note that for all six incorporated towns, as well as the unincorporated areas of Dare County, all ornaments, lights, ribbons, tinsel and other decorations must be removed before the trees are placed on the curbside for pickup or dropped off at the appropriate recycling centers.